Creating/deleting an NIC and editing the connection destination

[Update: December 27, 2018]

Overview of NIC loaded in the server and explanation of settings procedures

Overview

When creating a new SAKURA Cloud server, it is already loaded with one NIC (Network Interface Card) as a default. One NIC can only connect to one interface. Therefore, you must add another NIC to the server if you want to connect to two switches (for example, a global network switch and a local network switch).

This section explains procedures for adding an NIC to the server, deleting unneeded NICs, comfirming the connection status of NIC inserted in a server, etc.

Note

You can load a maximum of ten NICs in one server. (The server must be stopped in order to add/delete an NIC or change the connection destination.)
Furthermore, the only NIC that can be connected to a shared segment or a router + switch is the first NIC displayed at the top of the NIC list screen. The second and subsequent NICs cannot be connected to these items.

Confirming information

You can confirm NIC information at the following screen.

[NIC] tab for server

From the [NIC] tab at the server details screen, you can add/remove NICs to/from the server and confirm/change the connection destination.

A list of loaded NICs is displayed on this screen. The connection destination and network information for each NIC are displayed.

[Activity] tab for server

At the activity screen, you can confirm the CPU time and disk I/O for the server. At this screen, you can also confirm traffic graphs for each loaded NIC. If two or more NICs are loaded, they are displayed as “NIC#0,” “NIC#1,” etc., in conjunction with the number on the left-hand side of the list displayed in the NIC tab.

For details, please refer to the Activity page.

Map screen

At the map screen, you can confirm the number of NICs loaded in the server and the connection destination for each NIC.

Add NIC

After confirming that the server is stopped (“DOWN” is displayed in the power operation menu at the top of the screen), click the [Add] button at the bottom-right of the screen for the NIC tab.

When the processing is finished correctly, one unconnected NIC is added to the NIC list.

Delete NIC

After confirming that the server is stopped (“DOWN” is displayed in the power operation menu at the top of the screen), click the down arrow (▼) displayed to the right of the NIC to be deleted in the list displayed on the NIC tab screen. Next, select [Delete].

Attention

If there is an additional NIC created after the NIC targeted for deletion, the order of the NIC list will move up in order. It is also possible to delete the first NIC connected to a shared segment or to router + switch. However, after deletion, the only NIC that can be connected to a shared segment or to router + switch will be the second NIC which moves up to the topmost position.

Editing the NIC connection destination

The newly added NIC is not connected. Therefore, you must configure connection settings before starting the server. Furthermore, the same operation is required for the currently connected NIC if it is disconnected and left unconnected, or if it is changed to a different connection destination.

After confirming that the server is stopped (“DOWN” is displayed in the power operation menu at the top of the screen), click the down arrow (▼) displayed to the right of the NIC to be deleted in the list displayed on the NIC tab screen. Next, select [Delete].

A dialog box is displayed. In the dialog box, information for which settings are currently configured is selected. You can change the connection destination and connection status by selecting a different switch from the pop-up menu or by selecting [Disconnect] to cancel all connections, and then clicking the [Update] button.

Other functions

In addition to deleting the NIC and editing the connection destination, you can also perform the following operations from the menu displayed when clicking the down arrow (▼) available on the list screen.

Confirming the MAC address

You can confirm NIC detailed information by selecting [Display Details]. You can confirm the resource ID which is used when sending inquiries on the NIC to our company, as well as the MAC address used to identify the NIC in the server OS and network.

Attention

After deleting an NIC, you cannot reuse the assigned MAC address.

Applying the packet filter

You can set a packet filter for the NIC by selecting [Edit Packet Filter].

It is necessary to configure packet filter settings in advance. For details, please refer to Packet filter .

Hint

You can also configure settings and change the packet filter while the server is running.

Editing the IPv4 address displayed in the control panel

When selecting [Edit IPv4 Address], you can set the IPv4 address displayed in the control panel (in the case of an NIC connected to router + switch, you can select at the pop-up menu from the IPv4 address blocks allocated to the switch).

Attention

The set IPv4 address is updated to displays such as the NIC list display and the map function. However, this is not an update to server settings, nor does it show the IPv4 address that is actually assigned. You can use the displays as a note. Perform update and confirmation of actual settings at the server OS.