ISO image

[Update: November 6, 2018]

SAKURA Cloud provides Public archive for creating a disk with an OS already installed and a public ISO image for installing an OS configured with the customer’s unique installer settings. However, if the OS which you want to use is not included in the provided options, you can upload your own ISO image to SAKURA Cloud and insert it into the server virtual CD-ROM drive for usage.

By using the ISO image function of SAKURA Cloud, you can install an OS from the OS installation CD and use it as a boot CD for a diskless server which is started for disk recovery or temporary usage. Furthermore, even if it is not bootable, it can be used as a medium for moving data between servers; for example, when you want to exchange large files without connecting to the global Internet environment.

Create ISO disk upload space.

When using an ISO image on SAKURA Cloud, it is necessary to first create an ISO image space by using the following procedures, and then to upload into that space via FTP.

  1. Click [ISO image] from the menu on the left. If an ISO image already exists, a list is displayed.
  1. Click the [Add] button at the top-right of the list screen.
  1. A screen for adding an ISO image is displayed. Enter information and then click [Create].

The following is an explanation of each entry form.

Size Select either 5GB or 10GB depending on the size of the ISO image being uploaded.
*Fees differ depending on the size. For details, please refer to the fee chart displayed at the top of the screen.
Name Enter a name for the ISO image. The name entered here will be displayed in the ISO image list after uploading.
You can change the entered name at a later time from the edit ISO image information screen.
Explanation Use this free space to enter an explanation for information related to image, etc.
Tag You can categorize ISO images using Tag function
Icon You can set the icons to be displayed in lists and selection screens by using Icon function.
  1. After entering information in the form, click the [Create] button to display FTP connection information for use in uploading the ISO image. The ISO image can be uploaded using the information displayed at this time. Upload at a client where FTPS connection is possible.

Attention

The displayed FTP connection information cannot be displayed again after the dialog box has been closed. Also, the same information cannot be used to log in again after FTP upload has been finished. If you forget the FTP connection information before finishing ISO image upload, you can use Reset FTP connection information to reissue the connection information.

  1. After closing the FTP information, the ISO image creation completion screen that was displayed behind the dialog box is sometimes displayed. If the operation was successful, there is no problem with the screen being displayed. Click [Close] to close the screen.

Upload a disk image.

Once an ISO image has been created and information for FTP upload is displayed, the upload can be performed. Use the following procedures to upload your ISO image.

  1. Perform FTP connection from FTP software based on FTP information that was issued in Create ISO disk upload space.

Note

FTPS is used for connection. Therefore, you must use client software that supports FTPS connection.

*The following screen is an image of settings for FTP software.

  1. Upload a disk image to the connected directory (/).

Attention

Only one ISO image file can be uploaded per ISO image upload space. If you want to use multiple ISO images, please create the required number of ISO images in SAKURA Cloud.

*The following screen is an image of settings for FTP software.

  1. After completing FTP operation, click [ISO Image] at the menu on the left.
  1. Insert a check into the checkbox of the ISO image for which you want to complete FTP. Next, click [Details] or double-click the row of the target ISO image to display the details screen.

Hint

At the [Active Status] field for each ISO image, you can check whether [Upload] is displayed indicating the ability to receive uploads via FTP, or whether [Available] is displayed indicating the FTP is finished and use is possible as a disk inserted into the server.

  1. Click [Finish FTP] at the top-right of the screen.
  1. The operation confirmation screen is displayed. Click [Finish FTP].
  1. A completion screen is displayed. Click [OK].

Attention

If a screen like the one shown below is displayed, uploading may have not been finished correctly.

If you do not know your FTP information, refer to Reset FTP connection information.

Reset FTP connection

If you forgot the user name, password, or other information for FTP upload, use the following procedures to reset the FTP connection.

Attention

Once reset is performed, a new password is issued and it is no longer possible to connect using the old connection information.

  1. Click [ISO Image] from the menu on the left.
  1. Insert a check into the checkbox of the ISO image for which you want to complete FTP. Next, click [Details] or double-click the row of the target ISO image to display the details screen.
  1. Click [Finish FTP].
  1. The operation confirmation screen is displayed. Click [Finish FTP].
  1. An error is displayed because nothing has been uploaded. Ignore the error and click [Reset FTP] to continue.
  1. FTP is reset and new FTP information is displayed. Use this information to perform uploading again.

Upload an ISO image again

By uploading an ISO image again, you can change the contents of the existing ISO image without deleting that ISO image. Also, by performing upload via FTP, you can download an ISO image that has already been uploaded.

  1. Click [ISO Image] from the menu on the left.
  1. Insert a check into the checkbox of the ISO image which you want to upload via FTP. Next, click [Details] or double-click to display the details screen.
  1. Click [Start FTP].

After the confirmation screen is displayed, the FTP connection information is displayed. Perform the same operations as when uploading a new ISO image.

Note

You cannot upload an ISO image again if ISO images are inserted into the server. Check Server with ISO image inserted and perform operations to remove from all servers.

Delete an ISO image

Use the following procedures to delete an unnecessary ISO image.

Important

When deletion is performed, the uploaded ISO image is deleted simultaneously and cannot be recovered.

  1. Click [ISO Image] from the menu on the left.
  1. Insert a check into the checkbox of the ISO image that you want to delete and then click the [Delete] button at the top-right of the screen. If selecting the checkboxes for multiple ISO images, all of the selected images will be deleted simultaneously.
  1. The operation confirmation is displayed. If it is OK to delete, click [Execute].
  1. If the status changes to [Successful], deletion is complete. Click [Close].

Change the ISO image information

Click the [Edit] button at the top-right of each information details screen to edit the name, description, tag, and icon for each uploaded ISO image.

Note

The size cannot be changed except when creating the ISO image. If you want to change the size, please recreate the ISO image.

Confirm the server into which the ISO image is inserted

You can check the inserted server by clicking the [Insertion Destination Server] tab at each ISO image details screen.

Hint

You can remove the disk from a server by clicking the icon-cross icon on the right-hand side of the server list.

Insert an ISO image in the server

You can insert an ISO image in the server from the server details screen. For details, please refer to the Here page.